The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1

Fun Facts:

I watched this on Saturday.

I had a sandwich from subway and nachos with an awful sour cream dip (from the cinema!!!).

I fell in love with the series again.

It was criticized for being ‘unsatisfying’ due to the lack of plot development (or being closely compared to the amazing Catching Fire), but as it’s part 1, it is merely setting up the foundation for Mockingjay Part 2. Yes, the movie did lack the terror and suspense that it’s predecessors were famous for. However, this one is more dark and political as it digs deep into the roots of the problem. I thought the acting was superb (RIP PSH) and I don’t think anyone could have played Katniss as well as Jennifer Lawrence. The angst was gripping and the cinematography was beautiful. Watch it anyway, it’s worth it.

Here are some good songs from the soundtrack which was curated by Lorde (I am Lorde, ya ya ya)

Yellow Flicker Beat – Lorde

Scream My Name – Tove Lo

All My Love – Major Lazer

The Leap – Tinashe

CHVRCHES – Dead Air

Charli XCX – Kingdom (ft. Simon Le Bon)

The Chemical Brothers – This Is Not A Game ft. Miguel

Roll on November 20, 2015…

-Lara, girl on fire (Don’t ridicule me.)

2 thoughts on “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1

Leave a Reply

